Reseller Hosting, Shared Hosting, Dedicated Hosting by Vortech Inc.

Go Back   Reseller Hosting, Shared Hosting, Dedicated Hosting by Vortech Inc. > >> General Public > Chit Chat Public
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Chit Chat Public Talk about any thing you want! This forum is public.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2003, 06:21 PM
Garreg's Avatar
Garreg Garreg is offline
Resident Optimist
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: UK - Mon to Fri. Mars - all Weekend
Email relaying / spam

I've received a report from a client that his email is being bounced by Hotmail.

The IP used (generic to a few hosts here) is 65.57.231.100 and a search via DNSStuff produced the following report - http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/ip4r.ch?ip=65.57.231.100

As you can see it's listed five times............ Is this a possible cause? Are other resellers experiencing similar problems with Hotmail?

None of the domains listed are mine........... just curious - anyone?
__________________
Regards to all

Last edited by Garreg : 05-14-2003 at 06:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2003, 07:13 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Vortech Inc. Owner
Owner
 
Location: Orlando FL
Send a message via ICQ to admin
I know about:
XBL
Reports CNAME of level3.xbl.selwerd.cx.
TXT= NETBLK-DGTLRM-63-208-160-0

They block all of level(3) not much I can do there..

But there does seem to be some more reds on that list.. I wil see whats going on..
__________________
Brad Pugh
http://www.vortechhosting.com
------

Local System/Network Monitor
http://nagios.hsphere.cc/
Login:guest Pass:guest
XML FEED http://nagios.hsphere.cc/feed.xml
------

My Other Life:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2003, 06:01 AM
Garreg's Avatar
Garreg Garreg is offline
Resident Optimist
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: UK - Mon to Fri. Mars - all Weekend
Thanks Brad, I know we've spoken about level(3) months ago and I agree there's not a lot can be done - it seems they list anyone and anything regardless.

Appreciate you taking a look at the 'others'.
__________________
Regards to all
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2003, 09:14 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Vortech Inc. Owner
Owner
 
Location: Orlando FL
Send a message via ICQ to admin
I just tested hotmail with one an account I have there and it got there in like 30sec or less and its from the 65.57.231.100 mail server

From :
"Brad" <brad@vortechhosting.com>

To :
<rapidcolo@hotmail.com>

Subject :
test

Date :
Thu, 15 May 2003 10:10:36 -0400

MIME-Version: 1.0
Received: from mail.hsphere.cc ([65.57.231.100]) by mc8-f32.law1.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.0.2195.5600); Thu, 15 May 2003 07:10:50 -0700
Received: (qmail 50753 invoked by uid 399); 15 May 2003 15:20:12 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO home) (24.73.143.159) by mail.hsphere.cc with SMTP; 15 May 2003 15:20:12 -0000
X-Message-Info: JGTYoYF78jEHjJx36Oi8+Q1OJDRSDidP
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook, Build 11.0.4920
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2800.1106
Thread-Index: AcMa68F1SDD0Fg46RaqVMpTrmGwlsw==
Return-Path: brad@vortechhosting.com
Message-ID: <MC8-F32SUJFfu83I77G0012ffdd@mc8-f32.law1.hotmail.com>
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 15 May 2003 14:10:50.0835 (UTC) FILETIME=[CA30FA30:01C31AEB]
__________________
Brad Pugh
http://www.vortechhosting.com
------

Local System/Network Monitor
http://nagios.hsphere.cc/
Login:guest Pass:guest
XML FEED http://nagios.hsphere.cc/feed.xml
------

My Other Life:
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about outsourcing email to fight spam rheide Chit Chat Public 1 02-11-2005 02:02 AM
spam using my email address muthukumar H-Sphere Pre-Sales 2 11-01-2004 11:05 PM
I think someone has spoofed my email and is sending spam on a open STMP server L_P Chit Chat Public 7 08-20-2003 11:34 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Vortech Inc. ©2005
Page generated in 0.51654 seconds with 15 queries
[Output: 53.15 Kb. compressed to 49.91 Kb. by saving 3.24 Kb. (6.10%)]