Reseller Hosting, Shared Hosting, Dedicated Hosting by Vortech Inc.

Go Back   Reseller Hosting, Shared Hosting, Dedicated Hosting by Vortech Inc. > >> General Public > Chit Chat Public
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Chit Chat Public Talk about any thing you want! This forum is public.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2004, 01:52 AM
MEELAN's Avatar
MEELAN MEELAN is offline
Vortech Inc. Customer
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Roaming
Thumbs down Mail Problem (May be only me!)

Whenever a mail is sent from my local ISP to email hosted at Vortch, that email is returned with the following message.

I was able to sent to all other known emails like Yahoo and Hotmail.

Here is the return mail message.
Quote:
-----Original Message-----
From: Mail Delivery Subsystem [mailto:MAILER-DAEMON@kitul.learn.ac.lk]
Sent: Monday, February 16, 2004 12:37 PM
To: riyad@mgmt.cmb.ac.lk
Subject: Returned mail: see transcript for details

The original message was received at Mon, 16 Feb 2004 12:37:09 +0600 (LKT)
from shastra.cmb.ac.lk [192.248.16.91]



----- Transcript of session follows -----
... while talking to mail1.hsphere.cc.:
>>> MAIL From:<riyad@mgmt.cmb.ac.lk> SIZE=3927
<<< 553 sorry, your envelope sender domain must exist (#5.7.1)
501 5.6.0 Data format error

is this local SMTP in the blocked list or something?
__________________
meelan ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2004, 02:27 AM
Bladesnitz
Guest
 
Its saying the from domain doesn't exist.

Make sure "mgmt.cmb.ac.lk" is a valid domain.

Just an FYI, but the domain doesn't ping and dnsreport reports nothing (at this instant):

http://dnsreport.com/tools/dnsreport...mgmt.cmb.ac.lk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2004, 04:38 AM
MEELAN's Avatar
MEELAN MEELAN is offline
Vortech Inc. Customer
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Roaming
pathetically enough,
I received mails from Vortech account to this address (and domain).
Only our servers do not accepting any mails from that domain.

How is it happening? I am confused!

I think the DNS entry for that domain in their side is not complete.
I am contacting them!
__________________
meelan ;-)

Last edited by MEELAN : 02-16-2004 at 04:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-16-2004, 07:03 AM
Brangwyn Brangwyn is offline
T3CHN0 STUD
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: New Zealand (Wellington)
Quote:
I received mails from Vortech account to this address (and domain).
Of course you will, Vortech uses their own DNS servers primarily rather than querying external ones, so if the domain is in H-Sphere then mail from and to vortech domains will work.

The domain however doesn't "exist" to the rest of the world for whatever reason I don't know, but I'd say somethings screwy with the .lk zone .. whois.nic.lk doesn't even load for me right now
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-16-2004, 07:51 AM
MEELAN's Avatar
MEELAN MEELAN is offline
Vortech Inc. Customer
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Roaming
No Brangwyn, this domain is not hosted in Vortech. Its hosted in the network of University of Colombo. This email account receives mails from us(Vortech). Only they can't send mail to us.

I contacted the NetAdmin on their side and learned that have lots of email domains like this.

But, now, I feel that the problem may be in their side. Because, the DNS lookup does NOT say about its Nonexistence.
Here is nslookup result from ns1.hsphere.cc
Quote:
> server ns1.hsphere.cc
Default Server: ns1.hsphere.cc
Address: 65.57.231.120

> mgmt.cmb.ac.lk
Server: ns1.hsphere.cc
Address: 65.57.231.120

Name: mgmt.cmb.ac.lk

>

So, it displays the name back. But, there is no other information. I have never seen this kind of this before.

But, if you set type=ALL and do a lookup, it gives more information.
Quote:
> set type=ALL
> mgmt.cmb.ac.lk
Server: ns1.hsphere.cc
Address: 65.57.231.120

Non-authoritative answer:
mgmt.cmb.ac.lk MX preference = 50, mail exchanger = in-relay.ac.lk
mgmt.cmb.ac.lk MX preference = 50, mail exchanger = in-relay-t.ac.lk

ac.lk nameserver = ns.mrt.ac.lk
ac.lk nameserver = ns.ac.lk
ac.lk nameserver = ns.eu.net
in-relay.ac.lk internet address = 192.248.1.169
in-relay-t.ac.lk internet address = 192.248.40.1
ns.mrt.ac.lk internet address = 192.248.8.97
ns.ac.lk internet address = 203.94.66.129
ns.ac.lk internet address = 203.143.19.3
ns.ac.lk internet address = 192.248.1.162
ns.eu.net internet address = 192.16.202.11
>

where the actual problem is?
As from reseller point of view, what should be our answer to a client who complained about not receving mail from a particular source?
__________________
meelan ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-16-2004, 03:57 PM
Brangwyn Brangwyn is offline
T3CHN0 STUD
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: New Zealand (Wellington)
Seems to be working as far as resolution is concerned from here now .. dnsreport still doesn't seem to be able to resolve it though.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-16-2004, 10:36 PM
MEELAN's Avatar
MEELAN MEELAN is offline
Vortech Inc. Customer
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Roaming
yeah, it is working now and we receving mails from that domain.
I had to call their admin three times to explain. Also sent an email.

But, i dunno who corrected it. Thank god, Its working now!.
__________________
meelan ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-16-2004, 11:04 PM
generic's Avatar
generic generic is offline
guess who.. :)
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: chicago
I have found a good number of network admins blocking incoming and outgoing ip addresses as well as mail servers. Had one recently with a major banking institution that the employees could not send mail to name@sub.domain.com, nor yahoo, not hotmail, nor view similar sites. Admins went in and allowed access as needed.

I'm no admin but from my experience, its my guess it was on their end.
__________________
goodbye idevaffiliate, you can kiss my @$* with your poor support and broken script, I am now using post affiliate pro 3
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-17-2004, 03:51 AM
Brangwyn Brangwyn is offline
T3CHN0 STUD
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: New Zealand (Wellington)
Strange, dnsreport for that domain still isn't working though
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-17-2004, 08:04 PM
dpyers's Avatar
dpyers dpyers is offline
Vortech Inc. Customer
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Check it out at www.domainwhitepages.com. Check the options for dns records and service scan. Try both mgmt.cmb.ac.lk and cmb.ac.lk
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E-mail problem obj Chit Chat Public 19 02-04-2004 05:05 PM
Mail problem - pls help MEELAN Chit Chat Public 5 09-27-2003 07:25 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Vortech Inc. ©2005
Page generated in 0.66468 seconds with 18 queries
[Output: 82.78 Kb. compressed to 76.37 Kb. by saving 6.41 Kb. (7.75%)]