Reseller Hosting, Shared Hosting, Dedicated Hosting by Vortech Inc.

Go Back   Reseller Hosting, Shared Hosting, Dedicated Hosting by Vortech Inc. > >> General Public > Chit Chat Public
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Chit Chat Public Talk about any thing you want! This forum is public.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2007, 05:44 PM
oglee oglee is offline
Vortech Inc. Customer
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Comcast rejecting emails

Probably 2 to 3 times per week, Comcast rejects emails sent from any account based with Vortech. I constantly copy the rejection data (headers etc.) and submit a support ticket. They rotate the ip's and all is good... for a couple days... then it happens again, and again...
Is there any hopes for a permanent resolution to this issue?

Last edited by oglee : 04-15-2007 at 07:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2007, 11:08 PM
SRW's Avatar
SRW SRW is offline
Vortech Inc. Customer
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: USA!
Yep, got one customer that is running into the same issues with Comcast...

SRW
__________________
"What boots up must come down...."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-18-2007, 03:11 PM
jmbeach's Avatar
jmbeach jmbeach is offline
mistra know it all
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: San Diego
yep, this is a big problem in general. I have this constantly with AOL recipients. Wish there was a permanent solution, but sadly there probably isn't.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2007, 05:25 AM
soky's Avatar
soky soky is offline
Don't touch the hair!
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Southern Kentucky (SoKy)
Send a message via Yahoo to soky
It is a huge problem for me!! It's more than just some ISP's, some e-mail clients are now directing my hosted email to junk mail. My work around has been to use the local service provider outgoing email server but it's difficult to support this method to hosting customers.

I think one of this issues is the many hops in the headers. When I send a mail from my office, it goes through my cable company, then the DC in Orlando (can be 3 or more hops there) then the receiver. I'm thinking that some algorithms are seeing the hops and flagging the incoming email as spam. I'm not sure, but it's the only explanation I can come up with.

I've considered purchasing a dedicated box just for my client domains e-mail but do not have enough confidence that it would resolve the issue.

It is a HUGE frustration.
__________________
David Francis
Soky.net, llc http://www.SoKy.net
Soky Happenings Magazine http://www.SokyHappenings.com

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2007, 11:27 AM
retronaut's Avatar
retronaut retronaut is offline
Vortech Inc. Customer
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Toronto
Does this relate to SPF?

I have been looking into this too. DNS reports comes up with and SPF header error. SPF is designed to verify email adresses of senders and allows spam filters to try to determine if it is a forgery. AOL and Yahoo both use this.

I have not found a problem with being blacklisted on SpahHaus.

How do you set up SPF on Hsphere?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2007, 11:35 AM
SRW's Avatar
SRW SRW is offline
Vortech Inc. Customer
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: USA!
Just had a ticket open about setting up SPF. You just add it as a text DNS entry in DNS manager for your domain in Hsphere.

More about SPF: http://www.openspf.org/

I am notvery confident that SPF will make any significant impact on this problem.... But please post back if someone starts using SPF!

SRW
__________________
"What boots up must come down...."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2007, 01:31 PM
retronaut's Avatar
retronaut retronaut is offline
Vortech Inc. Customer
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Toronto
I added a DSN TXT record for SPF. The DNS admin report shows that it is OK.

I will not know the result until the next mailing which will be tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-19-2007, 01:38 PM
retronaut's Avatar
retronaut retronaut is offline
Vortech Inc. Customer
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Toronto
I did a little googling. Comcast appears to be one of the main supporters of SPF so this might help.

http://old.openspf.org/execsumm.html
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-20-2007, 06:59 AM
kattouf's Avatar
kattouf kattouf is offline
Vortech Inc. Customer
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: UK
I had this isssue for a user yesterday using Sympatico/msn, adding SPF records solved the problem and emails are going through.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-20-2007, 09:10 AM
soky's Avatar
soky soky is offline
Don't touch the hair!
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Southern Kentucky (SoKy)
Send a message via Yahoo to soky
Quote:
Originally Posted by retronaut
I added a DSN TXT record for SPF. The DNS admin report shows that it is OK.
I will not know the result until the next mailing which will be tomorrow.

Could someone offer the steps to accomplishing this? (Windows)

I found more a cool wizard at one of the links offered... the free wizard I think I'm honing in on the solution but don't know the right number for the "TTL" field in the DNS configuration.

this is what I came up with using the wizard...
"v=spf1 a mx include:davidfrancis.us include:soky.us ~all"

Help?

Last edited by soky : 04-20-2007 at 09:32 AM. Reason: found more info and refined my question
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-20-2007, 09:27 AM
kattouf's Avatar
kattouf kattouf is offline
Vortech Inc. Customer
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: UK
Just go to openspf.org enter your domain and follow the wizard.
Then add the line it produces as a DNS TXT record in the control panel.

This line would work for all domains hosted here and is what i use:

v=spf1 a mx ptr include:hsphere.cc ?all
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-20-2007, 09:32 AM
retronaut's Avatar
retronaut retronaut is offline
Vortech Inc. Customer
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Toronto
In Hsphere go to Domain Settings -> Domain Info -> DNS Configuration.

At the bottom Click - Add DNS TXT Record.

In the NEW custom TXT DNS record form, leave the first field blank. In the Data field I used:

Code:
v=spf1 a mx include:hsphere.cc ~all

What is the "PTR" refer to?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-20-2007, 09:33 AM
soky's Avatar
soky soky is offline
Don't touch the hair!
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Southern Kentucky (SoKy)
Send a message via Yahoo to soky
Quote:
Originally Posted by kattouf
Just go to openspf.org enter your domain and follow the wizard.
Then add the line it produces as a DNS TXT record in the control panel.
This line would work for all domains hosted here and is what i use:
v=spf1 a mx ptr include:hsphere.cc ?all


Well now... that seems much simpler. I guess the TTL number doesn't need to be specified?
__________________
David Francis
Soky.net, llc http://www.SoKy.net
Soky Happenings Magazine http://www.SokyHappenings.com

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-20-2007, 09:36 AM
retronaut's Avatar
retronaut retronaut is offline
Vortech Inc. Customer
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Toronto
Answer to my own question.

PTR:

Do you want to just approve any host
whose name ends in domain.com? (Expensive, unreliable and not recommended)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-20-2007, 09:36 AM
soky's Avatar
soky soky is offline
Don't touch the hair!
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Southern Kentucky (SoKy)
Send a message via Yahoo to soky
Thanks for the help guys... in the CP, there are a few questions.

Name TTL Class Type Data

Name = spf
TTL = ?? (use default value 86400 ??)
Class = N
Type = txt
data = v=spf1 a mx include:hsphere.cc ~all


Is that right?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
comcast getting bad generic Chit Chat Public 4 07-14-2005 02:17 AM
Emails to New clients webeffx H-Sphere Pre-Sales 8 12-03-2003 06:56 PM
New blocking measures by MSN/Comcast/Cox hostnet Chit Chat Public 13 06-23-2003 08:17 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Vortech Inc. ©2005
Page generated in 0.56494 seconds with 20 queries
[Output: 114.66 Kb. compressed to 105.60 Kb. by saving 9.05 Kb. (7.90%)]