Reseller Hosting, Shared Hosting, Dedicated Hosting by Vortech Inc.

Go Back   Reseller Hosting, Shared Hosting, Dedicated Hosting by Vortech Inc. > >> General Public > Chit Chat Public
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Chit Chat Public Talk about any thing you want! This forum is public.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2003, 12:36 PM
DigitalSkyline's Avatar
DigitalSkyline DigitalSkyline is offline
some kind of digital pimp
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Greater Detroit Area
Send a message via ICQ to DigitalSkyline Send a message via AIM to DigitalSkyline Send a message via Yahoo to DigitalSkyline
Network Solutions (their new scam?)

Network solutions apparently sent this to one of our customers and we didn't even use network solutions to register their domain... We also have just less then a year left on the domain.

I will never do business with that verisign because of this and wish everyone would switch. Didn't they just lose a class-action lawsuit for this sort of thing? There should be a world-wide boycottt against them. Ashes to ashes, dust to dust.

-----Original Message-----
From: Network Solutions
[mailto:customernotification@networksolutions.com]
Sent: Wednesday, October 01, 2003 4:35 PM
To: INFO@some.COM
Subject: Retrieve Expired Domain Names

Dear Network Solutions(R) Customer,

Although your domain name registration(s) has been deleted from active
status in your Network Solutions account, it can still be retrieved
before being placed back on the market to the general public.

Due to non-payment, the following domain name(s) has expired:

some.COM

If you inadvertently neglected to renew the domain name(s), contact a
Network Solutions Customer Care Representative at 1-866-234-4126 to
check if this service can be restored to active status. For a fee, in
most instances, we can register the domain name(s) to you with a
one-year term added to the expiration date.

Don't let this domain name(s) become available to the general public for
anyone to register. Call us within 7 days of receipt of this e-mail at
1-866-234-4126 to ensure that the domain name(s) is restored back to
your account.

Sincerely,

Network Solutions(R) Customer Care

(C) 2003 Network Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2003, 02:03 PM
jmbeach's Avatar
jmbeach jmbeach is offline
mistra know it all
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: San Diego
Are you sure this is from Network Solutions? I don't doubt it's them, but with just a phone number and no website to signup at, it could be any Joe Blow sending mass email.

Besides that, though, if you check NetSol/Verisign's BBB rating, it's not so good. Complaints of poor sales and marketing tactics, so it probably is them, the jerks

I'm really not surprised, and haven't used them for years. I try to convince as many clients as possible to switch too, because frankly who wants to pay $35/year anymore?

It's amazing how few registrars and internet companies fail to comply with the rules that each domain has attached. That is, not to use the Whois records to send unsolicited marketing crap to domain owners. I even get snail mail from god-knows-who trying to sell me services, while they blatantly disregard these rules.

I don't think any company is afraid of getting busted for this stuff - sad state of affairs.

Last edited by jmbeach : 10-03-2003 at 02:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2003, 03:02 PM
DigitalSkyline's Avatar
DigitalSkyline DigitalSkyline is offline
some kind of digital pimp
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Greater Detroit Area
Send a message via ICQ to DigitalSkyline Send a message via AIM to DigitalSkyline Send a message via Yahoo to DigitalSkyline
I told my client to do a search on google for verisign and class-action lawsuits if they have any questions regarding their legitimacy... I dont know but I think that will do the trick.
__________________
Sorry , Thank You , and You're welcome!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2003, 03:53 PM
Funnyhat's Avatar
Funnyhat Funnyhat is offline
Head Wanker
Junior Member
 
Network Solutions does that now if you have domains at a few companies... They send a notice out hoping you will renew the domain with them for a lot more than you paid with the other guy. I guess giving them the power of running .com and .net was not such a good idea... Now with the wildcard and them sending messages to .com and .net owners.. Whats next they going to be able to hold domains hostage?

Their system prolly messed up and sent it out anyway...

Mark
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Network Solutions DNS change problem PeterD Chit Chat Public 3 11-14-2004 08:58 PM
Network Solutions - Where did the "Manage Host Servers" option go? tkraffty Chit Chat Public 3 07-01-2004 04:37 AM
Network Solutions move igaven Chit Chat Public 4 10-24-2003 03:16 PM
Network Solutions, selling out... :) admin Chit Chat Public 5 10-17-2003 06:51 PM
Network Solutions cjmelhorn Chit Chat Public 1 03-12-2003 11:39 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Vortech Inc. ©2005
Page generated in 0.35149 seconds with 15 queries
[Output: 55.43 Kb. compressed to 52.23 Kb. by saving 3.20 Kb. (5.77%)]