Reseller Hosting, Shared Hosting, Dedicated Hosting by Vortech Inc.

Go Back   Reseller Hosting, Shared Hosting, Dedicated Hosting by Vortech Inc. > >> General Public > Chit Chat Public
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Chit Chat Public Talk about any thing you want! This forum is public.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2005, 02:08 AM
antic's Avatar
antic antic is offline
Vortech Inc. Customer
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Be aware of domain scams

Just received this in my inbox.. looks like an official email from a registrar, but the email header says it's from crazyjoe2031@hotmail.com.
Quote:
Domain Update Center
FINAL NOTICE

ATT: <registrant>
ADMINISTRATIVE CONTACT
etc. etc.

Please be advised that the above noted domain name has now become available for registration. Consequently the possibility of conflicting domain registration may occur.

IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE UNITED STATES LEGAL CODE

TITLE 15, Sec 1125. False descriptions, and dilution of Trademarks and the Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (UDRP) .........
blah blah etc. etc. for an entire PAGE! Very official-looking.

Then, at the end...
Quote:
Please check the options that you wish to apply:

[ ] Registration of <www.yourdomain.info> domain.
[ ] 1 Year .......... $50
[ ] 2 Year .......... $85
[ ] 5 Year .......... $160 (Recommended)
[ ] 10 Year .......... $300 (Best Value)
Since when does a .info domain (which I don't even own) cost $50 per year to renew?
Quote:
Credit Card Information

Type of Credit Card (Please check one):
¸MasterCard [ ] ¸American Express [ ] ¸Visa [ ] ¸Discover [ ] ¸Check

etc. etc.

Please sign and fax this form to 1(718)208-4213 in order for us to quickly process your order.
hmmmm

Might be worth alerting your clients to the potential for being sucked into this one.
__________________
 Thunderbird Error
The POP server is in Depeche Mode

Last edited by antic : 07-14-2005 at 02:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2005, 03:48 AM
mresell's Avatar
mresell mresell is offline
ePerson
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Around the \bin
I get similiar in the mail often.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2005, 04:28 AM
Zoren Zoren is offline
Digital Craftsman
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
I have had some clients that handled their own domains get taken by those "fake" invoices sent to them in the mail. Very annoying. Now I think they state in small print somewhere... "this is not an invoice" although the entire doc looks like a bill.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2005, 08:21 AM
ixie02's Avatar
ixie02 ixie02 is offline
Gregg
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
I checked one I received yesterday and they claimed it expired 3 month's before it actually does. In other words, I received the scam 6 months before expiration of the domain. I manage most of my clients domain names and when they recieved one of these scam letters they call me freaking out that there domain is expiring.
__________________
Catch a wave on the Grand Strand
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-14-2005, 02:35 PM
dpyers's Avatar
dpyers dpyers is offline
Vortech Inc. Customer
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
IIRC, the snail mail comes with from someplace with American in the name and a few flag pics scattered about. Been gettting letters from them for the past 3-4 years. Doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to how they select the domains to mail you about.

Never got one for a domain that I used a registrar information mask for though.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-14-2005, 06:04 PM
Silverbug's Avatar
Silverbug Silverbug is offline
Custom Built Solutions
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: AK, New Zealand
Send a message via ICQ to Silverbug Send a message via MSN to Silverbug Send a message via Skype to Silverbug
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpyers
IIRC, the snail mail comes with from someplace with American in the name and a few flag pics scattered about. Been gettting letters from them for the past 3-4 years. Doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to how they select the domains to mail you about.

Never got one for a domain that I used a registrar information mask for though.
Yeah i get a bunch of those ones too all the way down here.
__________________
Paul Foley
Sniper Systems Ltd

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-14-2005, 06:52 PM
mresell's Avatar
mresell mresell is offline
ePerson
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Around the \bin
Bulk register went after them, but they only altered their fine print. That is who I get also. Really low lifey.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-14-2005, 07:41 PM
Brangwyn Brangwyn is offline
T3CHN0 STUD
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: New Zealand (Wellington)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverbug
Yeah i get a bunch of those ones too all the way down here.
Ditto .. get a couple every month or so, I don't even open them now, go straight in the bin.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bank Scams and Resellers... sivvaa Chit Chat Public 4 09-20-2005 09:53 PM
Setting up a Domain as Domain Host Entry Catalyst-X Chit Chat Public 1 04-25-2003 08:00 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Vortech Inc. ©2005
Page generated in 0.67085 seconds with 20 queries
[Output: 74.13 Kb. compressed to 68.72 Kb. by saving 5.40 Kb. (7.29%)]