![]() |
|
|||||||
| Chit Chat Public Talk about any thing you want! This forum is public. |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
Whenever a mail is sent from my local ISP to email hosted at Vortch, that email is returned with the following message.
I was able to sent to all other known emails like Yahoo and Hotmail. Here is the return mail message. Quote:
is this local SMTP in the blocked list or something?
__________________
meelan ;-) |
|
#2
|
|||||||||||
|
|||||||||||
|
Its saying the from domain doesn't exist.
Make sure "mgmt.cmb.ac.lk" is a valid domain. Just an FYI, but the domain doesn't ping and dnsreport reports nothing (at this instant): http://dnsreport.com/tools/dnsreport...mgmt.cmb.ac.lk |
|
#3
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
pathetically enough,
I received mails from Vortech account to this address (and domain). Only our servers do not accepting any mails from that domain. How is it happening? I am confused! I think the DNS entry for that domain in their side is not complete. I am contacting them!
__________________
meelan ;-) Last edited by MEELAN : 02-16-2004 at 03:45 AM. |
|
#4
|
|||||||||||
|
|||||||||||
|
Quote:
The domain however doesn't "exist" to the rest of the world for whatever reason I don't know, but I'd say somethings screwy with the .lk zone .. whois.nic.lk doesn't even load for me right now |
|
#5
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
No Brangwyn, this domain is not hosted in Vortech. Its hosted in the network of University of Colombo. This email account receives mails from us(Vortech). Only they can't send mail to us.
I contacted the NetAdmin on their side and learned that have lots of email domains like this. But, now, I feel that the problem may be in their side. Because, the DNS lookup does NOT say about its Nonexistence. Here is nslookup result from ns1.hsphere.cc Quote:
So, it displays the name back. But, there is no other information. I have never seen this kind of this before. But, if you set type=ALL and do a lookup, it gives more information. Quote:
where the actual problem is? As from reseller point of view, what should be our answer to a client who complained about not receving mail from a particular source?
__________________
meelan ;-) |
|
#6
|
|||||||||||
|
|||||||||||
|
Seems to be working as far as resolution is concerned from here now .. dnsreport still doesn't seem to be able to resolve it though.
|
|
#7
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
yeah, it is working now and we receving mails from that domain.
I had to call their admin three times to explain. Also sent an email. But, i dunno who corrected it. Thank god, Its working now!.
__________________
meelan ;-) |
|
#8
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
I have found a good number of network admins blocking incoming and outgoing ip addresses as well as mail servers. Had one recently with a major banking institution that the employees could not send mail to name@sub.domain.com, nor yahoo, not hotmail, nor view similar sites. Admins went in and allowed access as needed.
I'm no admin but from my experience, its my guess it was on their end.
__________________
goodbye idevaffiliate, you can kiss my @$* with your poor support and broken script, I am now using post affiliate pro 3 |
|
#9
|
|||||||||||
|
|||||||||||
|
Strange, dnsreport for that domain still isn't working though
|
|
#10
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
Check it out at www.domainwhitepages.com. Check the options for dns records and service scan. Try both mgmt.cmb.ac.lk and cmb.ac.lk
__________________
|
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| E-mail problem | obj | Chit Chat Public | 19 | 02-04-2004 04:05 PM |
| Mail problem - pls help | MEELAN | Chit Chat Public | 5 | 09-27-2003 06:25 AM |