![]() |
|
|||||||
| Chit Chat Public Talk about any thing you want! This forum is public. |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|
#1
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
Comcast rejecting emails
Probably 2 to 3 times per week, Comcast rejects emails sent from any account based with Vortech. I constantly copy the rejection data (headers etc.) and submit a support ticket. They rotate the ip's and all is good... for a couple days... then it happens again, and again...
Is there any hopes for a permanent resolution to this issue? Last edited by oglee : 04-15-2007 at 06:05 PM. |
|
#2
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
Yep, got one customer that is running into the same issues with Comcast...
SRW
__________________
"What boots up must come down...." |
|
#3
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
yep, this is a big problem in general. I have this constantly with AOL recipients. Wish there was a permanent solution, but sadly there probably isn't.
|
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
It is a huge problem for me!! It's more than just some ISP's, some e-mail clients are now directing my hosted email to junk mail. My work around has been to use the local service provider outgoing email server but it's difficult to support this method to hosting customers.
I think one of this issues is the many hops in the headers. When I send a mail from my office, it goes through my cable company, then the DC in Orlando (can be 3 or more hops there) then the receiver. I'm thinking that some algorithms are seeing the hops and flagging the incoming email as spam. I'm not sure, but it's the only explanation I can come up with. I've considered purchasing a dedicated box just for my client domains e-mail but do not have enough confidence that it would resolve the issue. It is a HUGE frustration.
__________________
David Francis Soky.net, llc http://www.SoKy.net Soky Happenings Magazine http://www.SokyHappenings.com
|
|
#5
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
Does this relate to SPF?
I have been looking into this too. DNS reports comes up with and SPF header error. SPF is designed to verify email adresses of senders and allows spam filters to try to determine if it is a forgery. AOL and Yahoo both use this.
I have not found a problem with being blacklisted on SpahHaus. How do you set up SPF on Hsphere? |
|
#6
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
Just had a ticket open about setting up SPF. You just add it as a text DNS entry in DNS manager for your domain in Hsphere.
More about SPF: http://www.openspf.org/ I am notvery confident that SPF will make any significant impact on this problem.... But please post back if someone starts using SPF! SRW
__________________
"What boots up must come down...." |
|
#7
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
I added a DSN TXT record for SPF. The DNS admin report shows that it is OK.
I will not know the result until the next mailing which will be tomorrow. |
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Could someone offer the steps to accomplishing this? (Windows) I found more a cool wizard at one of the links offered... the free wizard I think I'm honing in on the solution but don't know the right number for the "TTL" field in the DNS configuration. this is what I came up with using the wizard... "v=spf1 a mx include:davidfrancis.us include:soky.us ~all" Help? Last edited by soky : 04-20-2007 at 08:32 AM. Reason: found more info and refined my question |
|
#9
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
In Hsphere go to Domain Settings -> Domain Info -> DNS Configuration.
At the bottom Click - Add DNS TXT Record. In the NEW custom TXT DNS record form, leave the first field blank. In the Data field I used: Code:
What is the "PTR" refer to? |
|
#10
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
Answer to my own question.
PTR: Do you want to just approve any host whose name ends in domain.com? (Expensive, unreliable and not recommended) |
|
#11
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
I did a little googling. Comcast appears to be one of the main supporters of SPF so this might help.
http://old.openspf.org/execsumm.html |
|
#12
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
I had this isssue for a user yesterday using Sympatico/msn, adding SPF records solved the problem and emails are going through.
|
|
#13
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
Just go to openspf.org enter your domain and follow the wizard.
Then add the line it produces as a DNS TXT record in the control panel. This line would work for all domains hosted here and is what i use: v=spf1 a mx ptr include:hsphere.cc ?all |
|
#14
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Well now... that seems much simpler. I guess the TTL number doesn't need to be specified?
__________________
David Francis Soky.net, llc http://www.SoKy.net Soky Happenings Magazine http://www.SokyHappenings.com
|
|
#15
|
||||
|
||||
|
Thanks for the help guys... in the CP, there are a few questions.
Name TTL Class Type Data Name = spf TTL = ?? (use default value 86400 ??) Class = N Type = txt data = v=spf1 a mx include:hsphere.cc ~all Is that right? |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| comcast getting bad | generic | Chit Chat Public | 4 | 07-14-2005 01:17 AM |
| Emails to New clients | webeffx | H-Sphere Pre-Sales | 8 | 12-03-2003 05:56 PM |
| New blocking measures by MSN/Comcast/Cox | hostnet | Chit Chat Public | 13 | 06-23-2003 07:17 PM |