![]() |
|
|||||||
| Chit Chat Public Talk about any thing you want! This forum is public. |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|
#1
|
|||||||||||
|
|||||||||||
|
Email claiming I tried to infect them..
I received an email today from some italian registered domain claiming I had sent a message to them with the WORM.SOMEFOOL.P virus. They only sent a partial header and no part of a message. I see that there are others on the net getting this message as well. Any idea if this is a legit complaint or a stupid attempt to spam and get a response?
If its a legit complaint, someone is probably forging my address. I'd never heard of this place let alone had it in my email address book. If its a spammers attempt to collect active email addresses, I'll just treat it as any other spam. Has anyone else received a similar email? P.S. Yes, I've had the MS patches applied, and AV updated. Checking it all daily for the last month since we have so many variants coming out.
__________________
Regards, Dan W. Sign over a SysAdmin's desk: "Just because you are paranoid, doesn't mean they are not out to get you!!" Last edited by dwhite : 05-05-2004 at 06:05 PM. |
|
#2
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
I cant find the virus
WORM.SOMEFOOL.P listed on mcafee or symantec, maybe im just a fool.
__________________
goodbye idevaffiliate, you can kiss my @$* with your poor support and broken script, I am now using post affiliate pro 3 |
|
#3
|
|||||||||||
|
|||||||||||
|
Sounds pretty dodgey to me. ... I'd put it in the SPAM bucket personally.
|
|
#4
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
Quote:
Second that. |
|
#5
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
This:
http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showt...529#post171529 May be worth a read. Don't know, but thought I'd share... |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|