![]() |
|
|||||||
| Chit Chat Public Talk about any thing you want! This forum is public. |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|
#1
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
anonymous@mail1.hsphere.cc
I keep getting blank emails from anonymous@mail1.hsphere.cc about 5 in the last week... It says recipient list not shown but that is it...
|
|
#2
|
|||||||||||
|
|||||||||||
|
Submit a ticket with full email and headers.
|
|
#3
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
I know this is going to sound dumb but how do I view the header in Outlook?
|
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
Same thing happened to me, after i removed the catch all from my account it stopped.
|
|
#5
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
Quote:
|
|
#6
|
|||||||||||
|
|||||||||||
|
I think its just something spammer's are doing. From addresses are typical random characters @yahoo.com . Not much you can do for it.
|
|
#7
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
anonymous
Quote:
I just got one too. Here are the headers: Return-Path: <petieeyyli@hotmail.com> Delivered-To: sobo@beaconts.com Received: (qmail 80708 invoked by uid 399); 23 Feb 2004 18:33:21 -0000 From: anonymous@mail.hsphere.cc Cc: recipient list not shown: ; Delivered-To: changeme@beaconts.com Received: (qmail 80703 invoked by uid 399); 23 Feb 2004 18:33:21 -0000 Received: from unknown (HELO sccrmxc12.comcast.net) (204.127.202.60) by mail.hsphere.cc with SMTP; 23 Feb 2004 18:33:21 -0000 Date: Mon, 23 Feb 2004 18:33:21 +0000 (GMT) X-Comment: Sending client does not conform to RFC822 minimum requirements X-Comment: Date has been added by Maillennium Received: from chello062178173073.14.14.vie.surfer.at ([62.178.173.73]) by sccrmxc12.comcast.net (sccrmxc12) with SMTP id <20040223183237s120093fmue>; Mon, 23 Feb 2004 18:33:21 +0000 X-Originating-IP: [62.178.173.73] Received: from 51.108.30.187 by 62.178.173.73; Mon, 23 Feb 2004 11:32:41 -0700 Message-ID: <F[20 X-Spam-Level: * X-Spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 2.61 (1.212.2.1-2003-12-09-exp) on mail.hsphere.cc X-Spam-Status: No, hits=1.5 required=3.8 tests=INVALID_MSGID,NO_REAL_NAME autolearn=no version=2.61
__________________
Beacon |
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
My post was closed so I have to post it here.
Again another 96 emaisl from anonymous@mail.hspehere.cc came in my mailbox today. Here is the header: Return-Path: <HHPJISNBL@yahoo.com> Delivered-To: myuser@mysite.com Received: (qmail 33144 invoked by uid 399); 31 May 2004 20:04:27 -0000 Date: 31 May 2004 20:04:27 -0000 From: anonymous@mail.hsphere.cc Cc: recipient list not shown: ; Delivered-To: moody@mysite.com Received: (qmail 33122 invoked by uid 399); 31 May 2004 20:04:26 -0000 Received: from unknown (HELO pcp05122125pcs.indstr01.fl.comcast.net) (69.139.36.53) by mail.hsphere.cc with SMTP; 31 May 2004 20:04:26 -0000 Received: from 90.158.126.8 by 69.139.36.53; Mon, 31 May 2004 17:08:03 -0400 Message-ID: <I[20 X-Spam-Level: * X-Spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 2.63 (2004-01-11) on mail.hsphere.cc X-Spam-Status: No, hits=1.5 required=5.0 tests=INVALID_MSGID,NO_REAL_NAME autolearn=no version=2.63 Bold has been changed for my privacy. Vortech got to do something, you can not simply say turn off this or turn off that. Because the catch all feature is there to use not to turn off. I am tired deleting messages everday now. |
|
#9
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
I'm no tech, but you can't blame vortech for spammers,
I would contact the sending isp's abuse dept. Just research the senders ip addresses and send the headers to the appropriate isp. Regarding catchalls, imo no need for them. I got a lot of spam too until i turned them off. Spammers send email to "support", "sales" etc on every domain knowing they are good shots for accounts. If you have catchalls on, you will get emails for EVERY email address they send to on your account. You have 10 or morte acounts they send 5 email to on each, you could easily reach your 96 emails in no time. hope that helps.
__________________
goodbye idevaffiliate, you can kiss my @$* with your poor support and broken script, I am now using post affiliate pro 3 |
|
#10
|
|||||||||||
|
|||||||||||
|
Qmail only adds it because its a forward. When the message is injected back into the queue, it makes sure the message is RFC compliant (From address is added to the header). If the message wasn't being forward, then qmail won't touch the headers.
There isn't much we can do about it. Turn your SA on and blacklist anonymous@mail##.hsphere.cc as Brad suggested. This is exactly the type of thing SpamAssassin excels at. The only messages we block are viruses for security reasons. Spam can't cause machines to be hacked. Last edited by Bladesnitz : 06-01-2004 at 01:09 PM. |
|
#11
|
||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||
|
ITSpec, if you use Outlook Express then you can also set a rule to "Delete From Server" any mails from the anonymous email address.
I would never turn off the catch-all feature, it's quite useful and I do not mind receiving spam due to it, it's the price I am willing to pay for using that feature. |
|
#12
|
||||
|
||||
|
today i got that email as [spam] .. is it work ? normally it not show as spam but now it show as [SPAM] also my internet security block it as spam too
done
__________________
I Love Cambodia ![]() |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 12/07/2004 mail1.hsphere.cc | bigdave | Network / Server Status | 5 | 12-07-2004 04:43 AM |
| mail1.hsphere.cc is down | wwwsol | Chit Chat Public | 4 | 12-22-2003 10:08 AM |
| 12/15/03 mail1.hsphere.cc | shwhite | Network / Server Status | 30 | 12-17-2003 07:36 AM |
| mail1.hsphere.cc | Crucial | Chit Chat Public | 4 | 06-23-2003 12:41 AM |
| 05/24/03 Mail1.hsphere.cc and mail.hsphere.cc service interruption | MichaelB | Network / Server Status | 25 | 05-29-2003 08:59 PM |