Reseller Hosting, Shared Hosting, Dedicated Hosting by Vortech Inc.

Go Back   Reseller Hosting, Shared Hosting, Dedicated Hosting by Vortech Inc. > >> General Public > Chit Chat Public
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Chit Chat Public Talk about any thing you want! This forum is public.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2003, 12:29 PM
L_P's Avatar
L_P L_P is offline
OverClocking Master
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Loud Computer Room
Send a message via AIM to L_P
I think someone has spoofed my email and is sending spam on a open STMP server

Well I am 100% positive now.
For the last two days I have gotten back a ton, and I mean over a hundred emails saying email address unknown, and as my email as the sender and the reply to.
but here is the problem I didnt send them, and since the matrix servers are now auth required I think someone spoofed my email addy. does anyone know what steps I should take to get this resolved?
here is a email in its entirety, also the IP it says that sent the email is not mine

Quote:
The original message was received at Wed, 20 Aug 2003 11:16:35 -0400 (EDT)
from 209.248.178.3.nw.nuvox.net [209.248.178.3]


*** ATTENTION ***

Your e-mail is being returned to you because there was a problem with its
delivery. The address which was undeliverable is listed in the section
labeled: "----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----".

The reason your mail is being returned to you is listed in the section
labeled: "----- Transcript of Session Follows -----".

The line beginning with "<<<" describes the specific reason your e-mail could
not be delivered. The next line contains a second error message which is a
general translation for other e-mail servers.

Please direct further questions regarding this message to your e-mail
administrator.

--AOL Postmaster



----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
<lj937@aol.com>

----- Transcript of session follows -----
... while talking to air-xn02.mail.aol.com.:
>>> RCPT To:<lj937@aol.com>
<<< 550 MAILBOX NOT FOUND
550 <lj937@aol.com>... User unknown



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Received: from WS_DITTA00 (209.248.178.3.nw.nuvox.net [209.248.178.3]) by rly-xn02.mx.aol.com (v95.1) with ESMTP id MAILRELAYINXN22-62e3f4390b91f9; Wed, 20 Aug 2003 11:16:09 -0400
From: <john@jscsystems.com>
To: <lj937@aol.com>
Subject: Re: Re: My details
Date: Wed, 20 Aug 2003 11:44:19 +0100
X-MailScanner: Found to be clean
Importance: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2600.0000
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Priority: 3 (Normal)
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/mixed;
boundary="_NextPart_000_00A421FF"
X-AOL-IP: 209.248.178.3
X-AOL-SCOLL-SCORE: 0:XXX:XX
X-AOL-SCOLL-URL_COUNT: 0
Message-ID: <200308201116.62e3f4390b91f9@rly-xn02.mx.aol.com>

I traced 209.248.178.3 back to Clevland Ohio (nuvox.net)
Not sure if I should report it to them or what. but I dont want my email addy to wind up on a black list.
-L_P
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2003, 12:33 PM
somereseller's Avatar
somereseller somereseller is offline
Usability everywhere
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: mars
It's so easy to spoof an email that there is nothing that you can do about this.

If people receiving those fake emails were using Spamcop, they would report all the open relays and the abusing IP to the respective ISP and you would not get into trouble.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2003, 12:34 PM
nhdonny's Avatar
nhdonny nhdonny is offline
Go Sox, Again
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: NH USA
yep, same here

this has been happenning to me for a few days now.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2003, 12:38 PM
L_P's Avatar
L_P L_P is offline
OverClocking Master
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Loud Computer Room
Send a message via AIM to L_P
Well nuvox.net has a abuse@nuvox.net on their contact page, I sent them a copy of the email and its IP address and told them to take action against their customer for spoofing and sending out spam. so I hope that helps.
I hate spam, and hate people who send it out. its one thing if a person signs up for a newsletter and there are adverts in it its another to just send out plain 'ol spam.
anywho.
thanks for your quick replys.
-L_P
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-20-2003, 09:58 PM
Brangwyn Brangwyn is offline
T3CHN0 STUD
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: New Zealand (Wellington)
That looks like a w32/sobig.f virus emails to me, theres been a large increase in it's ciruclation over the last 48 hours. The address IS spoofed by the virus and the real sender is most likely completely unware they have the virus.

Anything with the following subject line is likely to be the w32/sobig.f VIRUS not SPAM

Re: Details
Re: Approved
Re: Re: My details
Re: Thank you!
Re: That movie
Re: Wicked screensaver
Re: Your application
Thank you!
Your details

Last edited by Brangwyn : 08-20-2003 at 10:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-20-2003, 10:07 PM
bootNumlock's Avatar
bootNumlock bootNumlock is offline
Brangwyn fan club member
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: chicago
i got notice from aol like that as well--is there a way to tell if i will ever or never be able to send emails to aol users again?
__________________
boot numlock
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-20-2003, 10:23 PM
landiserve
Guest
 
fromw hat i have seen, AOL has started blocking a WHOLE LOT of emails the last 3 days, pretty soon they will try to claim you have to be on AOL to experience the full internet, or to spam the full internet. ahh sorry attempt at a joke, but it is true AOL is blocking tons of outside emails right now.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-21-2003, 12:34 AM
mresell's Avatar
mresell mresell is offline
ePerson
Vortech Inc. Customer
 
Location: Around the \bin
Someone spoofed my yahoo email the other day I got a bounce to a non-existent aol user same name as yahoo acct. I believe. Alot of the spoofing I think is just dictionary based. No one w/ any brains would filter based on a email address. It is too easy to fake so would do more harm than good to report or block.
__________________
The best part of the internet is... the people. The worst part of the internet is... the people!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open-source colloboration/email suite jetzkr8 Chit Chat Public 3 12-05-2005 05:33 AM
email spoofed/hijacked? jetzkr8 Chit Chat Public 8 09-07-2003 10:55 AM
SPAM from China w/spoofed return paths dwhite Chit Chat Public 5 07-31-2003 01:18 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Vortech Inc. ©2005
Page generated in 0.62396 seconds with 20 queries
[Output: 73.35 Kb. compressed to 68.08 Kb. by saving 5.27 Kb. (7.18%)]